Certified Department

The Probate Court maintains records for all matters filed with the Court including Estates, Guardianships, Name Changes, Marriage Licenses, and various other actions. (Please refer to About the Court for a more complete listing of the different types of actions that may be filed in the Court.) Some of the Court's records are confidential by law and are not open for public inspection, including records of Adoptions, Mental Illness, and Mental Retardation.

The Court maintains records for review, copy, and certification in several formats. These formats are; hard copy original, microfilm, microfiche, and electronic image. Electronic images are available on filings received on or after August 2, 1998. All public records stored electronically will be available from this website at a later date.

The Probate Court also maintains birth and death records for Franklin County, Ohio, for the years of 1867 through 1908, Marriage Records from 1803 to present, and Estate, Guardianship, and Name Change records from 1898 to present. The State of Ohio did not maintain birth or death records prior to 1867.

Death records from December 20, 1908 to 1944 are held with the Ohio Historical Society. All birth records after 1908 and death records after 1944 are held with the Ohio Bureau of Vital Statistics/Department of Health .

Requests for Regular and Certified Copies of Court Documents

Certified copies of Court Records are $1.00 each. Regular copies of imaged records can be burned to a compact disc. A disc costs $1.00 and can hold multiple cases/images. Regular hard paper copies are $.05 each. (Payment must be made by cash, certified check, cashier's check, money order or attorney's check. Personal checks, credit and/or debit cards are NOT accepted).

Record searches may be conducted in person, requested by U.S. Mail, or e-mail.

For requests submitted by U.S. Mail, please send a self addressed stamped envelope with your request to the following address:

Franklin County Probate Court
ATTN: Certified Desk
373 South High Street, 22nd Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6311

Back to Top

Delayed Birth Registration

- By appointment only. Schedule an appointment: probate@franklincountyohio.gov

To apply for a Delayed Birth Registration through this Probate Court, you must have been born in the State of Ohio. You will need to provide the Court with a No-Record Letter from the Ohio Department of Health, Vital Statistics. (Note: For births that occurred prior to December 20, 1908, please contact the Probate Court in the county where the birth occurred for the search.) Once you have this No-Record Letter, you must present the Court with three valid documents to prove the exact date and place of your birth and your parents' names. Below is an example of evidence that may be used in this Court:

  1. Certificate of Baptism
  2. Federal Census Records
  3. School records or transcripts, with an original signature from the records secretary
  4. Honorable Discharge from U.S. Armed Forces (DD 214)
  5. Certified copy of application for marriage license, showing vital information
  6. Life insurance policies (still in effect), at least 4 years old, showing date and place of birth
  7. Letter from hospital or doctor (indicating vital information) on letterhead
  8. Notarized Affidavit of a witness to the birth
  9. Certified copy of one child's birth certificate

Back to Top

Birth Record Correction

- By appointment only. Schedule an appointment: probate@franklincountyohio.gov

To apply for a Birth Record Correction through this Probate Court, you must have been born in Ohio and either have: (1) been born in Franklin County, (2) your mother was a resident of Franklin County at the time of your birth or, (3) you now reside in Franklin County. You must present the Court with two valid documents to prove the information that you wish to correct. Below is an example of evidence that may be used in this Court:

  1. Certificate of Baptism
  2. Federal Census Records
  3. School records or transcripts, with an original signature from the records secretary
  4. Honorable Discharge from U.S. Armed Forces (DD 214)
  5. Certified copy of application for marriage license, showing vital information
  6. Life insurance policies (still in effect), at least four years old, showing date and place of birth
  7. Letter from Hospital or Doctor (indicating vital information) on letterhead
  8. Notarized Affidavit of a witness to the birth
  9. Certified copy of one child's birth certificate

To correct the sex on an adult's birth certificate, a doctor's letter (on letterhead) stating that no surgery for sexual reassignment has taken place, is mandatory. A Questionnaire, available from the Certified Department, may also be used as evidence if it is completed by a parent or relative that is at least 10 years older than you.

Mail all required original documents to the Court. If all documents are sufficient, we will send you a completed application, which you will need to sign and have notarized. Once we receive the signed application, along with the Court costs (call 614-525-3899 for current costs, payment must be made by cash, certified check, cashier's check, money order or attorney's check. Personal checks, credit and/or debit cards are NOT accepted), we will send you a certified copy of the registration, which can be used as a birth certificate for any legal purpose.

For any questions and/or to schedule an appointment for quicker application, please feel free to call at (614) 525-3899.

Record searches may be done in person, requested by U.S. Mail, or e-mail.

E-Mail

For requests submitted by U.S. Mail, please send a self addressed stamped envelope with your request to the following address:

Franklin County Probate Court
ATTN: Certified Desk
373 South High Street, 22nd Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6311

Back to Top

Legal practice in the Probate Court is restricted by law to attorneys who are licensed by the Supreme Court of Ohio. Due to the complexity of the law and desire to avoid costly errors, most individuals who have filings before the Court are represented by an attorney. Court employees are prohibited by statute from practicing law and cannot give legal advice.